Stop reading about & watching videos on new bikes!

• Administrators

If you're like me, you love to read about and watch videos on new bikes. It's interesting, cool, and fun! And, after doing this last night, I started feeling like I need a better, more capable bike (mostly in the off-road area). Maybe a KTM 990, 1190R, or even an 2016 Africa Twin.

Today, I reminded myself that my 2013 Triumph Tiger 800XC has great power, is fun to ride, and has goes where I ask it to take me without any real issues. So, what I need is simply to be satisfied with the great bike that I have and spend the delta between its current value and a "better bike" on going on exciting, memorable riding trips and beer for my buddies. I'm a marketer by trade, but for at least a day, was suckered in by the bigger/better/faster message.  :wacko:

While some bikes are more capable in one area and others in another, overall, modern bikes are pretty damn good. A great rider can make a supposedly sucky bike look good while a sucky rider can make a great bike look just as sucky. No question that staying in shape and lots of saddle time will always increase the capability of your machine. Better for you and a whole lot cheaper! Often times, the weak link in the performance chain is skill and stamina, not the bike. So, adding "more" bike isn't the easy answer.

Not sure if anyone has gone through this mental exercise, but I did this weekend and decided to share my thoughts; to see where the discussion would go.

If you have a bike, get to ride it, and it puts a smile on your face, you might just gots a great bike! 👍

• Like 1

I get to ride all the new KTM bikes a couple times a year due to work but...

I'm cheap and rarely let new bike envy get me dreaming but...

My 89 Transalp and 04 950 are feeling dated and used but...

I rode them both today and both put a smile on my face.